Schedule locked for ICC T20 World Cup 2024Cricket

January 06, 2024 09:55
Schedule locked for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is set to take place from 1 to 29 June 2024, co-hosted by the West Indies and the USA. This highly anticipated event will feature a record 20 teams competing across 55 games to be crowned the champions.

The participating teams include the co-hosts, the West Indies and the USA, along with qualifiers Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and Uganda.

The teams have been divided into four groups of five, with the top two teams from each group progressing to the Super Eights stage. Group A consists of India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, and the USA. Group B includes England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman. Group C features New Zealand, the West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea. Group D comprises South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, the Netherlands, and Nepal.

The tournament will kick off with the USA facing Canada in the opening match at the Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium in Dallas on 1 June. The West Indies will start their campaign against Papua New Guinea at the Guyana National Stadium on 2 June.

One of the biggest highlights of the tournament will be the India-Pakistan clash, taking place in New York on 9 June. This highly anticipated match will be played in a state-of-the-art modular stadium in Nassau County. A total of eight matches will be played at this venue.

Defending champions England will begin their title defense against Scotland in Barbados on 4 June. Pakistan, the finalists of the 2022 tournament, will start their challenge against the USA in Dallas on 6 June.

The group stage will witness several blockbuster matchups, including Sri Lanka facing South Africa in New York on 3 June and England taking on archrivals Australia in Barbados on 8 June. Another exciting match will see the West Indies battling New Zealand at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad and Tobago on 12 June.

First-time qualifiers Uganda will play their inaugural T20 World Cup match against Afghanistan in Guyana on 3 June. Similarly, Nepal, who qualified for the tournament for the first time since 2014, will begin their campaign against Sri Lanka in one of the matches at Broward County Stadium in Lauderhill, Florida.

The semi-finals will be held in Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago on 26 and 27 June, respectively. The final will take place at the Kensington Oval in Barbados on 29 June, where one team will emerge as the ultimate champions of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024.

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
ICC T20 World Cup 2024  Team India